2015 FIFA Ballon D’or Nominees


A 59-man  list of nominees for the 2015 FIFA Ballon d’Or was leaked by Spanish newspaper Mundo Deportivo.

Three-time and current holder Cristiano Ronaldo and fout-time winner Lionel Messi as usual top the list, with Real Madrid and Barcelona having the highest number of nominees.

Suprisingly, Juventus goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon, who led Juve to Serie A and Coppa Italia glory and the champions league final, did not make the list.

While, Arsenal’s David Ospina was included, with Massimo Luongo of Swindon Town (League One) making the list a ‘funny’ one.

The list will be trimmed to 23 before the final day.

The 2016 awards ceremony will be held on the 11th of January in Zurich, along with the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year trophy and the Puskas award, given to the scorer of the best goal of the year as voted on by the public.



Claudio Bravo, Javier Mascherano, Andres Iniesta, Lionel Messi, Ivan Rakitic, Neymar, Luis Suarez

Real Madrid:

Gareth Bale, Karim Benzema, Sergio Ramos, Cristiano Ronalso, Luka Modric, James Rodriguez, Toni Kroos


Giorgio Chiellini, Paul Pogba, Alvaro Morata

New York City:

Andrea Pirlo (Juventus)

Boca Juniors:

Carlos Tevez (Juventus)

Bayern Munich:

Arturo Vidal (Juventus), Robert Lewandowski, Arjen Robben, David Alaba, Thomas Muller, Manuel Neuer

Manchester City:

Wilfried Bony, Yaya Toure, Sergio Aguero, Nicolas Otamendi, Kevin de Bruyne (Wolfsburg)


Diego Costa, Willian, Thibaut Courtois, Eden Hazard

Paris Saint-Germain:

Edinson Cavani, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Javier Pastore

Manchester United:

Wayne Rooney, David de Gea, Memphis Depay (PSV Eindoven)


David Ospina, Alexis Sanchez

Atletico Madrid:

Antoine Griezmann, Jackson Martinez (FC Porto)


Son Heung-min (Bayer Leverkusen), Harry Kane

AC Milan:

Carlos Bacca (Sevilla)

LA Galaxy:

Giovani dos Santos


Phillipe Coutinho


Christian Atsu (Everton)


Paulo Guerrero (Flamengo)


Eduardo Vargas (QPR)


Gary Medel


Alexandre Lacazette

PSV Eindhoven:

Andres Guardado

River Plate:

Carlos Sanchez


Andre Ayew (Marseille)

Swindon Town:

Massimo Luongo (QPR)

Leicester City:

Shinji Okazaki (Mainz)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s