Totti set for his last game for AS Roma

Francesco Totti says his “love for football will never fade” as he prepares for “the last time I can wear Roma’s jersey” on Sunday.

The 40-year-old Italian is to end his 24-year playing career with Roma – he is set to become a director at the only club he has played for

He has scored 307 goals in 783 games since making his debut in 1993 aged 16.

“I can’t tell you in a few words how much these colours meant, mean and will always mean to me,” he tweeted.

“I just feel that my love for football never fades. It’s a passion, my passion. It’s so deep I can’t imagine not fuelling it any longer. Ever.

“From Monday I’m ready to go again. I’m ready for a new challenge. Roma v Genoa, Sunday, 28 May 2017, the last time I can wear Roma’s jersey.”

Totti, a World Cup winner with Italy in 2006, has won one Serie A title and two Coppa Italias at Roma.

He was widely expected to quit playing last summer but signed a one-year extension to his contract.

This season he has made 27 appearances, mostly as a substitute. Roma are second in the table, four points behind newly-crowned champions Juventus before the final day of the season on Sunday.

Totti was 16 when he made his Roma debut as a substitute on 28 March 1993 in a 2-0 win against Brescia.

Leave a Reply

