Alvaro Arbeloa retires from football

​Former Liverpool, Real Madrid and West Ham defender Alvaro Arbeloa has announced his retirement.

The 34-year-old former Spain full-back made three Premier League appearances for the Hammers last season before being released.

He spent three years with the Reds before returning to Madrid, for whom he made his senior debut, in 2009.

Arbeloa won one La Liga title and the Champions League twice at Madrid before signing for West Hamlast August.

“It’s time to say goodbye,” he said. “Physically I was OK to keep playing.”

“I always thought I would play until my legs held out, but in the end it was a head and motivation issue,” he told Marca.
Many times you consider life in a way or see the future in a way, but life has other things prepared and you have to know how to accept them and face them.
“Things this season did not come out as I had dreamed. I am being honest with myself when I say goodbye.” 
He added: “It has been complicated. It’s something that when it comes to my mind I try not to think much about.
“At a professional level it has not been an easy year and that also has a personal impact, of course.”

He made more than 200 appearances in total for Liverpool, Madrid and West Ham between 2007 and 2017 and was capped 56 times by Spain.

He was part of his country’s World Cup-winning squad in 2010 and helped them win the European Championship in 2008 and 2012.

Leave a Reply

