Bournemouth sign Nathan Ake for club record fee


​Bournemouth have signed Chelsea defender Nathan Ake for a club-record fee, reported to be in the region of £20million.
The transfer fee breaks Bournemouth’s previous record – the £15m paid to Liverpool for winger Jordon Ibe in July 2016.
Ake has signed a long-term deal and is the Cherries’ third summer signing.

England striker Jermain Defoe signed on Thursday from Sunderland and Bosnia goalkeeper Asmir Begovic arrived from Chelsea in May.


The Netherlands international, 22, had a spell on loan with the Cherries last season and scored three goals in 12 games before being recalled to Stamford Bridge in January, featured sporadically to help the Blues win the Premier League and reach the FA Cup final.
“I had a great time here last season so I’m really happy to be back,” Ake told the Bournemouth website.

“It’s an exciting challenge. Chelsea is a great club and I learned so much there but this is a new step and the right place for me to develop even more.

“The fans haven’t seen the best of me yet. I always set the bar high so I know there is a lot of things I still have to work on. With the help of the manager here I know I can keep improving and become a better player.”

Ake joined Chelsea in 2012 and made 17 appearances for the Stamford Bridge side. He spent the 2015-16 season on loan at Watford in the Premier League.

Ake made his international debut for Holland against Morocco in March.
Bournemouth manager Eddie Howe said: “I am delighted that we have completed the signing of Nathan on a permanent basis.

“Nathan is an outstanding young player with a fantastic attitude and a great desire to learn and develop.

“He has a very bright future ahead of him and I’m very pleased to say that future is here.”

“He is someone we know all about, having had a very successful loan spell here last season.

Leave a Reply

