Star Sixes Final- France beat Denmark to clinch maiden Star Sixes title; List of participants

France 21 Denmark

France were crowned champions of the inaugural Betsafe Star Sixes with a 2-1 win over Denmark in Sunday night’s final at the O2 Arena.

The French team, captained by Arsenal legend Robert Pires, beat Spain 5-2 in the semi-finals before rounding off the star-studded four-day tournament with their narrow victory over the Danes.

Ludovic Giuly bundled home the opener from close range, with Youri Djorkaeff striking what turned out to be the decisive goal after Daniel Jensen had equalised for Denmark.

“I’m very proud of my team,” Pires told Sky Sports. “It’s always very important to do well whenever you put the French shirt on. It was a very tough game.

“The legs were a bit heavy and Denmark played very well, so we’re very happy to win the tournament.”

Denmark captain Stig Tofting added: “Of course if you told us we would finish runners-up before the tournament we would have been happy, but it’s always disappointing to lose. Congratulations to France.”

Denmark‘s Sorenson was voted star of the tournament.

Spain‘s Michel Salgado was presented with the top scorer award.

Top Scorers

9- Michel Salgado

6- Ludovic Giuly

5- Julio Baptista


Roberto Carlos, Juliano Belletti, Gilberto Silva, Rivaldo, Elano, Dida, Juninho, Djalminha, Amaral, Julio Baptist


Peng Weiguo, Peng Weijun, Xia Yao, Liang Jianfeng, Jiang Feng, Wei Qun, Liu Cheng, Chen Yongqiang, Hu Zhijun, Li Wei


Martin Jorgensen, Stig Tofting, John Sivebaek, Daniel Jensen, Mikkel Beckmann, Mads Junker, Chris Sorensen, Per Kroldrup, Hjalte Bo Norregaard, Jan Hoffman

Steven Gerrard, Rio Ferdinand, Michael Owen, David James, Emile Heskey, Phil Neville, Danny Murphy, Paul Merson, Lee Hendrie, Wes Brown


Robert Pires, Olivier Dacourt, William Gallas, Eric Abidal, Ludovic Giuly, Marcel Desailly, Sebastien Frey, Youri Djorkaeff, Bruno Cheyrou, Vincent Candela


Michael Ballack, Timo Hildebrand, Dietmar Hamann, Simon Rolfes, Marco Reich, Kevin Kuranyi, Jens Nowotny, Jorg Albertz, Maurizio Gaudino, Dariusz Wosz


Alessandro Del Piero, Simone Barone, Fabrizio Ravanelli, Paolo Di Canio, Angelo Di Livio, Massimo Oddo, Marco Amelia, Stefano Fiore, Marco Delvecchio, Luciano Zauri

Jared Borgetti, Luis Hernandez, Garcia Aspe, Joaquin Reyes, Braulio Luna, Mario Mendez, Miguel Zepeda, Alberto Rodriguez, Hector Altamirano, Erubey Cabuto

Jay-Jay Okocha, Celestine Babayaro, Daniel Amokachi, Julius Aghahowa, Garba Lawal, Joseph Yobo, Taribo West, Victor Ikpeba, Peter Rufai, Uche Okechukwu

Deco, Vitor Baia, Fernando Couto, Maniche, Jose Bosingwa, Raul Meireles, Nuno Gomes, Paulo Ferreira, Helder Postiga, Luis Boa Morte

Dominic Matteo, Don Hutchison, Christian Dailly, Simon Donnelly, Rab Douglas, Paul Dickov, Barry Ferguson, Jackie McNamara, Mark Burchill, Richard Hughes


Carles Puyol, Gaizka Mendieta, Fernando Morientes, Michel Salgado, Luis Garcia, David Albelda, Pedro Contreras, Alfonso Perez, Carlos Marchena, Joan Capdevila


One Reply to “Star Sixes Final- France beat Denmark to clinch maiden Star Sixes title; List of participants”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s