Manchester City sign Monaco left-back Benjamin Mendy on a five-year deal

Manchester City have announced the signing of left-back Benjamin Mendy for £49.2m on a five-year deal.

He is the Premier League club’s fifth major signing of the summer following the recruitment of England right-back Kyle Walker for £45m, plus a potential £5m of add-ons, Portugal midfielder Bernardo Silva(£43m), Brazilian keeper Ederson  Moraes(£35m) and defender Danilo from Real Madrid (£26.5m).

The 23-year-old left-back was a top target for Guardiola, who wanted to bring three new full-backs to the Etihad this summer after allowing Pablo Zabaleta, Bacary Sagna and Gael Clichy to leave at the end of last season when their contracts expired.

Mendy said: “I am very proud. This is what I wanted from the very beginning. As soon as the championship was over, I talked to my family and it was all clear in my head: I wanted to join Manchester City.
“I think I am the right person for the group. I am easily adaptable. There are some players with whom I exchanged a few emails, I knew them from some years ago.
“Regarding football, I can bring a lot of creativity in the game, I can offer different solutions, I like to take to play as full-back and provide assists for the strikers.”

The arrival of Mendy leaves Manchester City with the most expensive defensive line-up in world football.

City’s Director of Football, Txiki Begiristain, said: “Benjamin has all the qualities we are looking for in a full-back. For such a young player, he has a wealth of top-level experience.

“He is undoubtedly one of the world’s best full-backs, our number one target in this position. We are all delighted to have him here at Manchester City.

“I’m sure he will prove a fantastic addition to the squad.”

Mendy played 34 times for Monaco last season and helped them to their first Ligue 1 title in 17 years after joining them from Marseille last summer.

He supplied a further four assists in the Champions League, where he helped the principality side to the semifinals before bowing out to runners-up Juventus.

Mendy, who began his career at Le Havre, was a youth international at U17, U18, U19 and U21 level for France. 

His Monaco contract was set to run until the summer of 2021.
He will wear the number 22 shirt, and will join up with the City squad as their 2017/18 preseason preparations continue.

Leave a Reply

