Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, and Gianluigi Buffon top 24-man list of Best FIFA Men’s Player of the Year

Cristiano Ronaldo will be hoping to be named Best FIFA Men’s Player for the second year running after being included among the nominations for the 2017 award.

Madrid dominate the list of nominees given their successful 2016-17 campaign, boasting seven players in total.


Alongside Ronaldo sits Toni Kroos, Luka Modric, Sergio Ramos, Marcelo, Dani Carvajal and Keylor Navas.

Barcelona are next in line with four nominees, with Neymar — now of Paris Saint-Germain — Luis Suarez and Andres Iniesta joining Messi on the list.

Real Madrid star Ronaldo, who won the inaugural award last year, is one of 24 players to have been nominated for the accolade.

The award, which covers the period of Nov. 20, 2016, to July 2, 2017, is voted for by national team coaches, captains, selected media and fans and will be handed out at the Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony on Oct. 23 in London.

Ronaldo’s nomination comes after a year that saw him help Madrid to a third Champions League crown in four seasons and a first La Liga title in five years, as well as the FIFA Club World Cup.

Ronaldo scored twice as Madrid beat Juventus 4-1 in the Champions League final, while also finishing top scorer in the competition with 12 goals.

Ronaldo faces competition from long-time rival Lionel Messi, who finished up as La Liga’s top scorer with 37 goals — 12 ahead of Ronaldo — and helped Barcelona to Copa del Rey success in what was a largely disappointing season for the club.

Tottenham forward Harry Kane is the only British player named on FIFA’s player of the year shortlist for 2017.

Kane scored 38 goals in all competitions last season, 29 in the Premier League, winning the golden boot in the process.

While he is the only British player on the shortlist, Kane is joined by several other Premier League stars – Arsenal forward Alexis Sanchez, Chelsea’s title winners N’Golo Kante and Eden Hazard and Manchester United’s Zlatan Ibrahimovic.

Juventus captain Gianluigi Buffon will also be vying for the award after guiding his club to a Serie A and Coppa Italia double as well as a place in the Champions League final.

Voting closes on 7 September and the winners will be announced at an awards ceremony in London on 23 October.

Best FIFA Men’s Player of the Year :

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (GAB – Borussia Dortmund)

Leonardo Bonucci (ITA – Juventus/AC Milan)

Gianluigi Buffon (ITA – Juventus) Dani

Carvajal (ESP – Real Madrid)

Cristiano Ronaldo (POR – Real Madrid)

Paulo Dybala (ARG – Juventus)

Antoine Griezmann (FRA – Atlético Madrid)

Eden Hazard (BEL – Chelsea)

Zlatan Ibrahimovic (SWE – Manchester United)

Andres Iniesta (ESP – FC Barcelona)

Harry Kane (ENG – Tottenham Hotspur)

N’Golo Kante (FRA – Chelsea) Toni Kroos (GER – Real Madrid)

Robert Lewandowski (POL – FC Bayern Munich)

Marcelo (BRA – Real Madrid)

Lionel Messi (ARG – FC Barcelona)

Luka Modric (CRO – Real Madrid)

Keylor Navas (CRC – Real Madrid)

Manuel Neuer (GER – FC Bayern Munich)

Neymar (BRA – FC Barcelona/Paris Saint-Germain)

Sergio Ramos (ESP – Real Madrid)

Alexis Sanchez (CHI – Arsenal)

Luis Suarez (URU – FC Barcelona)

Arturo Vidal (CHI – FC Bayern Munich)